top of page
Writer's pictureFloyd

poems from winter break

Updated: Jun 8, 2023


If I met my seven year old self today,

What would I tell her,

What would I say?

Would I warn her of the future,

Of bad things yet to come?

Or would I leave her be naive,

To keep on having fun?

The little seven year old girl

Who thought the world a perfect place,

Would she even recognise herself,

When she looked into my face?

Would she too be frightened

By the monster I have become



-----------------------------------------------------------------




What a wonder it must be

To see the world through sparkling eyes

through ocean views under disguise

From mountains big and small

Through wildflowers in the fields

And silently listening to bird call

Lying in the grass at night

To Run and jump all through the hall

Not to fear a single thing

And break right through the wall



-------------------------------------------------------------------




I got lost on the highway of happiness,

Went too fast on the wrong lane of love

Riding along a road of regret

Screaming up to the sky above


I found myself adrift in a sea

Of endless memories and scars

They found me under my blankets

Through cracks in my heart they rose

With thorns hidden in baskets

Of beautiful orchids and prose


They promised that if I slipped and fell

They would pierce my crippled heart

Putting me under their fiery spell

They watched me sob as I fell apart

Enclosing me in a flowery cell


I stumbled back onto the highway

And as if waking from a trance

I opened my eyes and saw

The ghosts of my past

and the music on

So I got up and started to dance

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Motivational Poems 4summer

Hey froggies! I hope you guys are having an amazing and eventful start to summer. Sometimes summer can feel like a big change in your day...

Comentários


bottom of page